SSH Tectia

Deploying Configurations

The configuration files that will be distributed to the current software versions can be checked by clicking Configurations → Edit configurations on the menu, and by selecting the configuration from the tree view and clicking the View configuration files button.

To deploy the configurations created and defined in the previous sections:

  1. Click Configurations → Deploy configurations on the menu.

  2. Select a group from the tree view.

    Deploying configurations

    Figure 8.28. Deploying configurations

  3. Enable the Unconditionally overwrite all configurations (including local changes) option if you want that the configuration files are resent to the hosts, which overwrites any local configuration changes.

    Click the Update configurations in this group and subgroups button.

  4. A list of hosts in the selected host group is shown, and you can exclude individual hosts from the configuration deployment.

    Click Yes to confirm the deployment.

After the deployment has been confirmed, new configuration files generated specifically for the installed software version will be distributed to the target hosts as defined in the assignments.

[Note]Note

The configuration deployment verifies the SSH Tectia software versions on the target host, but it does not verify the actual installed sub-components. For example, if transparent tunneling or FTP-SFTP conversion filter rules have been defined in SSH Tectia Client G3 configuration, the configuration is deployed to all selected SSH Tectia Client/ConnectSecure hosts, regardless of whether they have the transparent tunneling and/or FTP-SFTP conversion component installed. In that case, SSH Tectia Client/ConnectSecure simply ignores the filter rules that do not apply to the installed software.

You can follow the progress of the configuration deployment by clicking the View deployment jobs tab and clicking the Details button next to the job.

Deployment is starting

Figure 8.29. Deployment is starting

[Note]Note

Once the configuration update has been started, it cannot be aborted. If there are errors during the update, the update has to be redone.