Tectia

Managing Auto-Assign Rules

You can create auto-assign rules for moving hosts automatically to pre-defined groups in case your hosts have a suitable grouping and pattern (hostname, operating system name, operating system version). The rules can be modified at any time (you may choose whether to process all the hosts according to new rules instantly).

Auto-assign rules are managed on the Auto assign page. To access the page, click Hosts → Auto assign on the menu.

Adding and Modifying Rules

To manage the auto-assign rules, follow these instructions:

  1. Go to Hosts → Auto assign on the menu.

  2. On the Auto assign page, select a host view by clicking its tab. Proceed to add or modify the rules:

    Creating an auto-assign rule

    Figure 8.7. Creating an auto-assign rule

    1. To add a new auto-assign rule, click the Add rule button, and define the grouping patterns and the target group.

      You can use wildcards * and ? in the auto-assign pattern fields. The rules are case-sensitive.

      Creating an auto-assign rule

      Figure 8.8. Creating an auto-assign rule

    2. To edit an auto-assign rule, click Edit next to the rule you wish to edit.

    3. To delete an auto-assign rule, click Delete next to the rule you wish to delete. The rule is deleted immediately.

  3. To save and return to the Auto-assign page, click Save.

Sorting Rules

If several auto-assign rules match to a host, the first matching rule will be used. To change the order in which the rules are evaluated, click the Sort button on the Auto assign page.

Change the order by clicking the Up and Down buttons. Click Save when finished.

Applying Rules

After you have defined the auto-assign rules, it is possible to apply the rules to all hosts that are currently under management (the managed hosts do not have to be connected to do this) or under Holding Area by clicking the Reprocess all hosts button on the Auto assign page. All hosts connecting to management later will be processed by the auto-assign rules in use at that time.

[Note]Note

Configurations will not be updated to reflect the new grouping until you deploy the configurations under Configurations → Deploy configurations.