SSH Tectia

Deploying a Distribution Server hierarchy

Changes done in the Manage Server Hierarchy view do not affect the managed hosts in real time. Instead, it is intended that all changes are done first and then deployed in one go.

When you have finished the changes to the hierarchy, click Hosts → Host Connectivity. On the Deploy Hierarchy tab, you can see a summary of changes to be done.

Deploying server hierarchy

Figure 6.3. Deploying server hierarchy

The number of hosts and Distribution Servers that need to be reconfigured are shown. If there are any groups without Distribution Servers, their number is shown in red. It is still possible to deploy the hierarchy, but groups which are missing Distribution Servers and any groups under them will not be configured. The hosts placed in these groups will remain connected to the group where they were placed in the last successful reconfiguration.

Verify the changes and click Deploy now. This will start the global deployment operation and cancel any deployments started earlier. It's also possible to cancel the currently running operation using the Cancel deployment button. This will not roll back the already deployed changes, but will prevent any further reconfigurations of hosts or Distribution Servers.

The progress of the deployment operation can be viewed on the View Deployment Progress tab.

Viewing deployment progress

Figure 6.4. Viewing deployment progress

The tab shows a list of all host and Distribution Server reconfigurations that are running at the moment or are scheduled to run. The list will not necessarily contain all hosts at any given time: the hosts in each distribution group are scheduled only after one or more of the Distribution Servers of that group have been configured.

The results of the deployment operation can be viewed on the View Deployment Results tab.

Viewing deployment results

Figure 6.5. Viewing deployment results

The View Deployment Results tab contains all the already finished host and Distribution Server reconfiguration operations. A successful status means that the host or Distribution Server accepted the new configuration and disconnected before connecting to the new place in the hierarchy. Connecting to the new place can still fail after reporting a success here, but in any case, the host or Distribution Server should eventually connect straight to the Management Server even if Distribution Servers were not available due to, for example, network problems.

On the Connectivity Check tab, you can view a connectivity report showing how many of the hosts configured under the Management Server are currently connected. The report is started by clicking the Perform Connectivity Check button.

Performing connectivity check

Figure 6.6. Performing connectivity check