SSH Tectia

Creating Host Groups

Each host view contains a default group called Holding Area, and all newly connected hosts are placed there. You can create your own set of host groups inside each host view to improve the visibility into the connected hosts.

The work flow - creating host groups

Figure 3.4. The work flow - creating host groups

The hosts can be assigned to go to the groups automatically with the auto-assign rules in the Management Server configuration, or the group settings can be included in the initial configuration block (ICB). It is also possible to move connected hosts to the groups manually.

The host groups are managed on the Manage groups page. To access the page, click Hosts → Manage groups on the menu.

Creating host groups

Figure 3.5. Creating host groups

The host groups can be divided further into subgroups. If a group has subgroups, a plus sign (+) is displayed before the group name. Click the plus sign to expand the subgroups.

To create a new host group:

  1. Click Hosts → Manage groups on the menu.

  2. On the Manage groups page, select a host view by clicking its tab.

  3. Click the topmost Add subgroup button to add a new group to the view. After you have created some groups, you can also add new subgroups under existing groups by clicking the Add subgroup button next to the group.

  4. Enter a name for the new group and click Save.

To rename a host group, click the Rename button on the Manage groups page next to the group you wish to rename. Enter a new name for the group and click Save.

To move a host group, click the Move button on the Manage groups page next to the group you wish to move, and select a new parent group for the group from the drop-down list and click Save.

To delete a host group, click Delete on the Manage groups page next to the view you wish to remove. Note that a host group cannot be removed if other objects of the system refer to it.

For detailed instructions on managing the host groups, see Managing Host Groups.