SSH Tectia

Managing Auto-Assign Rules

Auto-assign rules are managed on the Auto assign page. To access the page, click Hosts → Auto assign on the menu.

Creating Rules

To create a new auto-assign rule:

  1. Click Hosts → Auto assign on the menu.

  2. On the Auto assign page, select a host view by clicking its tab.

  3. Click the Add rule button to add a new auto-assign rule.

  4. Edit the rule properties and click Save when finished. See Figure 6.1.

Creating an auto-assign rule

Figure 6.1. Creating an auto-assign rule

In case your hosts have a suitable grouping and pattern to be used in auto assign (hostname, operating system name, operating system version), you may create auto-assign rules for moving the hosts automatically to the predefined groups. The rules can be modified at any time (you may choose whether to process all the hosts according to new rules instantly).

You may use wildcards * and ? in the auto-assign pattern fields. Rules are case-sensitive.

Editing Rules

To edit an auto-assign rule, click Edit on the Auto assign page next to the rule you wish to edit.

Click Save when finished.

Deleting Rules

To delete an auto-assign rule, click Delete on the Auto assign page next to the rule you wish to delete. The rule is deleted immediately.

Sorting Rules

If several auto-assign rules match to a host, the first matching rule is used. To change the order in which the rules are evaluated, click the Sort button on the Auto assign page.

Change the order by clicking the Up and Down buttons. Click Save when finished.

Applying Rules

After you have defined the rules, it is possible to apply the rules to all hosts currently under management (the managed hosts do not have to be connected to do this) or under Holding Area by clicking the Reprocess all hosts button on the Auto assign page. All hosts connecting to management later will be processed by the auto-assign rules in use at that time.

[Note]Note

Configurations will not be updated to reflect the new grouping until you deploy the configurations under Configurations → Deploy configurations.