SSH Tectia Client 4.0 and earlier use a different type of installation package and must be uninstalled before installing the new version of SSH Tectia Client. See Section Removing the Client Software for instructions. Uninstallation does not remove the configuration files, so they can be reused when the new version is installed. After the uninstallation is complete, start the new installation normally.
SSH Tectia Client 4.1 and later can be upgraded simply by installing a newer version of the software on top of the older version. There is no need to uninstall the previous version first. The already defined configuration will be preserved untouched.