Your browser does not support HTML5 local storage or you have disabled it. Some functionality on this site, including saving your privacy settings and offering you special discounts, uses local storage and may not work with local storage disabled. We recommend allowing the use of local storage in your browser. In some browsers, it is the same setting used for disabling cookies.

SSH

Using a Shared Account

In case the tunneled applications provide sufficient user authentication, it is possible to use a shared user account, for example with a shared password, not requiring user interaction. Note that the shared account and password must only be used for tunneling, as the account is common to several users and the shared password is stored as plaintext in the Connection Broker configuration file.

See the operating system documentation for instructions on how to create a new user account, for example tunnel, with minimal privileges. It is very important that the shared user account is properly configured on the operating-system level.

The user should be denied at least shell access and the file system permissions should be restricted. This is done as a precaution in case the user is able to access the system using some other means than Secure Shell.

To deny shell access on the operating-system level, you can set the user's shell to /bin/false or use a script that can also inform the user of the situation:

For example, you could have the following saved to name /bin/no-shell:

#!/bin/sh

echo "Shell access to this account has been disabled."
exit 1

===AUTO_SCHEMA_MARKUP===